Hotel Reviews

“Weekend at The Bealey Hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2012
The Staff and management at The Bealey Hotel are amazing, 
Debby and her staff went above and beyond all expectations. 
We specifically traveled from Brisbane for the weekend with the sole purpose of staying at The Beautiful Bealey Hotel. 
We have specific Vegan dietary requirements, Alden the head chef took it as a challenge to provide us with the most amazing awesome food to meet our requirements. 
The room was clean, tidy and warm. The bed was very comfortable, the view was to die for! We are already planning our next trip to the Bealey, because when you find somewhere so special you want to return again and again.
 
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW.
If you are after a comfortable, warm, friendly and completely unpretentious place to stay in an absolutely brilliant location, choose the Bealey. 
Great communication at booking stage and leading up to arrival (helped me to coordinate a bus to/from Christchurch), and again when I arrived.
Great advice on the nearby walking tracks etc.
Location is magic. Basically right on the riverbed in the Waimakariri River Valley, with easy access to the Bealey Spur track as well as other walks/tramps. Not in a town, so you get peace here - at night, you'll only hear the river.
When I woke up and took my camera down to the rocks on the riverbed (100m from my room) to watch the sunrise, that entire valley was mine. It was just incredible. Awesome vistas of the valley and surrounding peaks.
Very friendly staff and warm atmosphere in the restaurant/bar. GREAT food. Rooms were comfy and easily warm enough - not luxury but they have everything you need, including a comfy bed after hiking/tramping around.
Will definitely be back. NOTE: Hotel is 12km from Arthur's Pass village, so you need to organise transportation if you plan to go there. Atomic does pickup and dropoff at Bealey Hotel if you don't have a car.
Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river/valley


Reviewed 5 weeks ago
We realy enjoyed our stay here. Historic,not precious. Rooms are basic per usual reasonably priced New Zealand places. Actually, one and a half rooms wih kitchen,etc. The night sky is incredible,no lights around so the stars are dazzling.The food in the bar/restaurant was delicious and cheap. Try the chicken or steak pies. The owner was so nice an helpful.
The atmosphere there was welcoming and surreal. Young people ,old songs on jukebox. Great views. On Transalpine road to Christchurch.
Stayed January 2015, travelled with friends
 
“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful location with much natural beauty”
Reviewed 17 February 2015
We were on a fast comprehensive New Zealand tour and stayed here as we traversed the mountain range. Excellent. We had our own cabin and the views were spectacular. The managers/owners were the nicest people-especially the lady who introduced me to Settlers Hill Chardonnay and then gave me a long handled spoon of butter to feed the Kea-a large parrot -who had come to visit on the porch. He/she was very happy and polished off the lot as i watched the beautiful feathers and colors of the bird. Dinner was delicious -mussels and superb lamb with a red wine sauce. We shared a Bealey breakfast the next morning and was it hearty! A very special place.
Room Tip: Not needed -cabins well separated and private with great views
Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple
 
“Value for Money”
[4 of 5 stars] Reviewed 22 January 2015
Not the most salubrious of establishments - basic but very clean, had all the amenities required and was inexpensive. Only stayed one night whilst travelling through Arthurs Pass but would have stayed for longer if needed. Hosts very friendly and welcoming.
Do eat in the bar/restaurant - evening meal was absolutely fabulous (have eaten in 5 star and expensive! restaurants and had meals not as beautifully cooked and tasty).
 
“Well meant hospitality in excellent surroundings”
[4 of 5 stars] Reviewed 17 January 2015
We had no bookings travelling through Arthurs Pass.
 In the village itself everything was booked out so we had no choice than to travel on towards the east coast.
 We stopped at the Bealey and they had a few rooms available.
 Surprisingly i should say as the location and views are superb.
We got a studio with views over the valley and river.
Dinner was at the restaurant and cooked by two young ladies.
Good honest food at reasonable prices.
We were lucky enough to see a few Kea lurking around as well.
I can recommend the Bealey which has a bit of history, for a stop over or longer if one wants to enjoy the plentiful walks in the area.
Stayed January 2015, travelled with friends
 
"Can't wait to come Back”
Reviewed 19 October 2014
Our stay here was nothing short of exceptional. The hospitality is awesome - from the initial friendly voice when making a phone reservation to the lovely "woffers" helping out around the place. The views are awesome - beautiful river/valley/mountain views. Ok so there are some power lines - but just look in the other direction! The rooms are clean and comfortable - can't really ask for much more especially given the price. The restaurant staff were so lovely and friendly and gave great recommendations on what to eat - and we were not disappointed. We ate here both nights and after the first night couldn't wait for the second. Some of the best eating out we've had in a long time. Good value too. Lunch was a whole new experience but every bit as good as dinner. Pies mmmmm - Kim's homemade pies - you've got to try these, they'd have to be up there with the best in NZ. Can't wait to come back for another getaway to the Bealey Hotel - thanks Marshall, Kim and all your wonderful staff.
Room Tip: With the set up they all pretty much have a good view out over the river and mountains.
 
"SAust travellers”
Reviewed 27 September 2014
Hospitality was exceptional, very friendly host, very accommodating. The food was the best on our trip, units were clean, views spectacular and would definitley recommend it to other travelers. We will be back thanks.
Stayed September 2014, travelled with family

CONTACT US

PHONE
+64 3 318 9277
FAX +64 3 318 9014

SH 73 (12km east of Arthur’s Pass Village)
Arthur’s Pass National Park
NEW ZEALAND